Skip to content ↓

Ellingham Primary School

Strong roots for flourishing futures

Learning Behaviours


At Ellingham we use the characters from A.A. Milne's Winnie The Pooh stories

to represent the six different learning behaviours:

  • resilience (an ability to: absorb themselves in a task, manage distractions, persevere and notice patterns)
  • resourcefulness (an ability to ask questions, make links, reason, use a full range of resources from the wider world)
  • reflectiveness (an ability to plan, revise, pull out key learning, recognise own learning strengths)
  • reciprocity (an ability to empathise and listen to others, collaborate, imitate, know when it’s appropriate to learn with others or on your own)
  • readiness (being willing, eager and prepared to do a task)
  • responsibility (being able to act or decide on one’s own; being answerable and accountable for something within one’s power or control)